Scott Davis reports on Disney’s Iger Helping the Oakland Raiders In Los Angeles

Scott Davis Los Angeles Raiders forwards article…

Part II: More on Iger the NFL, the Raiders, and Chargers in Los Angeles…

Continued…Iger shared information a number of related topics including his participation and his ideas specific to how to league should return to the country’s 2nd largest big city market.

Here’s a brief from Iger on exactly why it was that he decided to get more deeply involved with a team or teams moving to LA: “I think it would be great for the community to have an NFL team. It’s high time that we have that. I really was interested in the civic side of this. But I’ve also thought about my life post-Disney and how I would spend my time and my energy. The opportunity to be involved with either an NFL team, or in this case two NFL teams and a stadium project, and using my experience that I’ve obviously gained from Disney over these years to successfully move two teams here, I thought that would be a great next step for me.” Long story short Disney’s is in LA and it would be possibly mutually beneficial for the NFL to be there as well.

Iger was asked what it is that he delivers by being involved in this situation: “When you run the Walt Disney Co., you gain a fair amount of experience in customer-facing businesses, particularly in site-based entertainment. I have a lot of experience in marketing, a lot of experience in selling, particularly tickets to site-based entertainment or movies or whatever. “I have tremendous brand experience. What I do a lot for Disney is manage the great brands of this company, whether it’s Disney, ESPN, ABC, Pixar, Marvel, ‘Star Wars.’ And I’m very engaged in technology and its impact on the consumer, either what experience you deliver for them or how to market and sell to them.”

When pressed on the Carson project specifically: “There’s a tremendous amount of support for Carson. What I’m trying to do is articulate not just the vision for the project itself but the values of Carson and the specific value of two teams moving at once as well as the value of the project itself and the location.”

Iger was the asked about the relevance or importance of Orange County California: “Orange County is a big, important market, and a football market too, particularly for the Chargers. So I think Carson is really well located to attract people both from L.A .County and Orange County and even possibly north San Diego County, particularly on a Sunday, when traffic is less of an issue.”

He went on to speak his thoughts on defines as “repositioning” the brand of the Oakland Raiders: “I think it’s incumbent upon us to make sure it doesn’t scare people away, in how you portray yourself, how you present yourself to the public is one way to do that. And I think with a large new stadium where you have the ability to attract a real diverse fan base, diverse geographically, diverse ethnically and diverse from an age perspective, I think you have a shot at doing that.”

Careful Mr. Iger, that could be taken as a shot at the current fan base that fills the stadium in Alameda county.

Iger went for the safe neutral answer when asked about which NFL he prefers to see in the Los Angeles marketplace: “I’m a big believer in theatricality, so if you’re going to bring the NFL back to a market this big, this important, then do it big. And two is much bigger than one and I really think it would create such a level of excitement and interest in the NFL in Los Angeles that it would do a world of good not just to the league but the teams.”

Perhaps the biggest question other than which teams may make the move is “when”: “I am gaining more and more confidence that the league … believes it is time to move a team or teams to L.A. I feel that they now hear the footsteps, to use a football analogy, and that the league believes it’s good for them to do it now. They’ve debated it and considered it for a long time, and now it’s time.”

Scott Davis reports on Disney’s Iger Helping the Oakland Raiders In Los Angeles

Leave a Reply

